# Dezső Dévényi (1948-2009) award ceremony and scientific presentation

#### 7 December 2023



### The programme for today

- Short introduction about the history of the Award
- Gábor Radnóti: Who was Dezső Dévényi?
- Scientific presentation of the 2023 award winner
- Máté Mile (Norwegian Meteorological Institute):
   Advanced assimilation of satellite observations in a limited-area numerical weather prediction model over the Arctic region
  - Q&A
- Award handover ceremony
- Closure
- (Virtual online gathering afterwards)

## History of the award (1)

- Memorial meeting (physical): 21 June 2010 (a Met. Society event in autumn 2010)
  - Speakers: Rudolf Czelnai, Gábor Radnóti, István Szunyogh, Stan Benjamin, István Ihász, András Horányi and Péter Tasnádi
- Memorial volume including articles from the 2010 Memorial event (published in 2014)
- 2010: the design and the preparation of the award (Tamara Kubaszova)
  - "It works in practice but how can be certain that it will work in theory?"





# History of the award (2)

- Dezső Dévényi Numerikus Weather Prediction Award from 2011 onward (we have the 10<sup>th</sup> awardee this year)
  - 2011: Ágnes Havasi
  - 2013: Ildikó Pieczka
  - 2015: Hajnalka Breuer
  - 2017: Gabriella Szépszó
  - 2018: Timea Haszpra
  - 2019: Csaba Torma
  - 2020: Péter Torma
  - 2021: Gabriella Allaga-Zsebeházi
  - 2022: Noémi Sarkadi

**EVERY 2 YEARS** 

**EVERY YEAR** 

- The Award ceremony was part of the official celebration of the World Meteorological Day (23<sup>rd</sup> of March) at the Hungarian Meteorological Service (from 2011 to 2018).
- From 2019 onwards we have our own event in the autumn (Dezső died on Thanksgiving Day) with the presentation of the actual winner
- Committee: Patricia Dévényi, Stan Benjamin (from 2022), György Major (until 2021), Gabor Radnóti, Gabriella Szépszó (from 2018) and András Horányi